Monday, March 12, 2018

Call for nominations for the SIGecom Dissertation Award

Dear all,

Please consider nominating recently graduated Ph.D. students working in algorithmic game theory/mechanism design/market design for the SIGecom Dissertation Award.  If you are a graduating student, consider asking your adviser or other senior mentor to nominate you.

Nominations are due at the end of this month, March 31, 2018.  This award is given to a student who defended a thesis in 2017.  It is a prestigious award and is accompanied by a $1500 prize.  In the past, the grand prize has been awarded to:

2016: Peng Shi, " Prediction and Optimization in School Choice"
2015: Inbal Talgam-Cohen, " Robust Market Design: Information and Computation "
2014: S. Matthew Weinberg, "Algorithms for Strategic Agents"
2013: Balasubramanian Sivan, " Prior Robust Optimization"
and the award has had five runner-ups, Bo Waggoner, James Wright, Xi (Alice) Gao, Yang Cai, and Sigal Oren.  You can find detailed information about the nomination process at: We look forward to reading your nominations!
Your Award Committee,
Nicole Immorlica
Ariel Procaccia
Aaron Roth

No comments: